NEBOSH Construction Certificate

Health and Safety appointed representatives who work in the construction Industry are faced with a constant battle against ever changing health and safety legislation and the impact on their respective organisations. In addition EC regulations stipulate that Health and Safety Representatives must be “competent” to perform the role.

The NEBOSH Construction Certificate is a leading award in construction health and safety and is designed to provide a sound breadth of underpinning knowledge that will enable people to discharge their legal duties more effectively with regard to health and safety in construction.

Course Summary

  • Provisions under the Health and Safety At Work etc. Act 1974
  • Statute Law, Civil Law and Common Law
  • Safety policies
  • Method Statements (Safe Systems of Work)
  • Guarding of Machinery
  • Role and powers of enforcing authorities
  • Fire legislation
  • Legal responsibilities for Sub-Contracting
  • Electrical Regulations 1989
  • Protective Equipment and Devices
  • Hazard spotting, safety audits and safe systems of work
  • Risk Assessments
  • Safety Representatives and Consultation with employees.
  • Reporting of Injuries, Diseases and Dangerous Occurrences – Regulations 1995 (RIDDOR)
  • Fork Lift and Lift Truck safety and mobile plant to include transport management
  • Accident Prevention Techniques
  • Noise Regulations
  • Control of Substances Hazardous to Health Regulations
  • Supervisory and management responsibilities
  • Accident investigation techniques
  • Overview of E.C. Regulations, Health and Safety (Six Pack)
  • CDM and other Construction Legislation

Entry Requirements

No formal entry requirements but a learning agreement must be completed prior to commencing the course.

Suitable for Site Managers, Planning Supervisors, Health and Safety Advisors in Construction and Safety Representatives.


The NEBOSH Construction Certificate programme results in a nationally recognised health and safety qualification; in order to achieve this award delegates are required to attend formal examinations at the conclusion of the programme.

The exams comprises of three parts:

  • Part NGC1: Managing of Health and Safety
  • Part NCC1: Controlling Hazards in Construction Work
  • Part NCC2: The Practical Assessment

To pass the National Construction Certificate candidates must average at least 50% on the written papers covering Part NGC1 and NCC1 (with not less than 45% on either paper), and at least 60% on the practical assessment Part NCC2.


The National Construction Certificate in Occupational Safety and Health

Apply Now

To protect the future of your business

Call us on 07889 544 465 or email

i-Safe Ltd

Khepera Business Centre
9 Orgreave Rd
S13 9LQ